Olivier Gagnon | Vision

Vision

PHILOSOPHY

« Every client is unique. Each project is unique. »

Each client, I have had the pleasure to work with, is unique. As individuals, our needs differ from one another. Our lifestyles are also different and as a result the relationship one has with architecture varies accordingly. As an architect I understand the importance of having an open mind for each project I undertake. It is my mission to understand the specific needs of every client, consider their habits and lifestyle, so that I can help create suitable spaces in one’s home. Because the spaces we live in define the level of comfort and functionality, I believe it is particularly important to pay attention to the interrelationships between the spaces in our homes.

« A unique and adaptive home. »

Each project must be unique, but also needs to transcend the test of time; to be able to adapt and evolve with its home owners. That is why it is important for me to establish a hierarchy of spaces and determine which rooms are most likely to evolve over time. In each home I create, it is vital to establish a sense of flow that is in keeping with the functionality of both owner and building requirements.

« Site and architecture are one. »

When creating a space, regardless of size or budget, it is imperative to consider the surrounding physical environment and its conditions. The geographical orientation, sunlight, shade, wind exposure, topography and views are just some of the many factors that have a major impact the success of building conception. My practice analyzes and measures the elements surrounding each structure, and positively integrates all aspects into the project.

« Nature for the benefit of architecture. »

Along with incorporating nature’s external elements into each project, my mission is to promote buildings which are in harmony with their environment. It is possible to create energy efficient buildings without resorting to complex and expensive mechanical systems. Our natural environment provides us with all the necessary tools to utilize passive heating, natural ventilation and be self-sufficient in water and electricity. It is time to consider our buildings from different angles, to prioritize occupant comfort and to reduce the pressure we put on our environment. Obtaining my LEED certification at the beginning of my professional career was vital in keeping with my environmentally friendly philosophy.

CaGBCmemberF_colour_2LEED AP

The LEED certification is awarded by the Green Building Council of Canada, a national non-profit organization which, since 2002, is dedicated to promoting green building and sustainable community development practices in Canada.

www.cagbc.org

CONCEPTUAL APPROACH

My vision and philosophy of architecture help to conceptualize my approach. Each project has a unique character and set of potentials. My personal approach seeks to identify and find possibilities by learning about the building’s environment. This takes into consideration, the site, views, sunlight and the specialized needs of my clients; including budget and schedules.

My job is to create spaces with positive interrelationships using natural materials. My personal life experiences and professional background are what guide me to succeed in what I love to do, build homes!

Olivier Gagnon | Vision

Vision

PHILOSOPHIE

« Chaque client est unique. Chaque projet est unique. »

Chacun des clients avec qui j’ai eu la chance de travailler est unique. Les besoins d’un diffèrent des besoins d’un autre. Leur mode de vie diffère également, et par conséquent, le rapport que chacun entretient avec l’architecture est différent. Je me fais un devoir pour chaque projet que j’entreprends de bien comprendre les besoins précis du ou des clients, d’analyser leurs habitudes et leur mode de vie afin de créer des espaces adaptés à chacun. J’apporte un soin particulier à l’interrelation qu’ont les espaces entre eux, car ce sont ces relations qui définiront le niveau de confort des occupants des lieux.

« Une maison unique et adaptative. »

Chaque projet se doit d’être unique, mais chacun se doit également de transcender l’épreuve du temps, de pouvoir s’adapter, d’évoluer avec ses occupants. C’est pour cette raison qu’il est primordial pour moi d’établir une hiérarchie des espaces dans chacune des demeures que je crée, de déterminer quels lieux sont les plus susceptibles d’évoluer avec le temps. Ce n’est qu’une fois que j’ai effectué cet exercice qu’il est possible pour moi d’établir l’interrelation qui m’apparaît la plus efficace entre les divers espaces.

« Site et architecture ne font qu’un. »

Il m’est inconcevable lors de la création d’espaces de ne pas prendre en considération l’environnement physique et bâti dans lequel est implanté ou sera implanté le bâtiment. L’orientation géographique, l’ensoleillement, l’ombrage, l’exposition aux vents, la topographie et les vues ne sont que quelques uns des facteurs pouvant avoir un impact majeur sur le confort des occupants du bâtiment à concevoir. Il m’est donc primordial d’analyser précisément l’impact des éléments physiques et bâtis environnants et de prendre les mesures adéquates afin d’intégrer ces derniers de façon positive au projet.

« La nature au profit de l’architecture. »

Non seulement je me fais un devoir d’intégrer de façon positive les facteurs externes naturels à chaque projet , mais j’entretiens également le rêve de pouvoir créer des bâtiments qui seraient en symbiose avec leur environnement. Il est possible de créer des bâtiments éco-énergétiques sans avoir recours à des systèmes mécaniques complexes et dispendieux. Notre environnement naturel nous fournit tous les outils indispensables au chauffage passif, à la ventilation naturelle, ainsi que pour être autonomes en eau et en électricité. Il est temps de mieux penser nos bâtiments afin de prioriser le confort des occupants et de diminuer la pression que nous exerçons sur notre environnement. Voilà pourquoi il fut très important pour moi d’obtenir la certification LEED dès le début de ma carrière professionnelle.

CaGBCmemberF_colour_2PA LEED

L’accréditaion LEED est octroyée par le Conseil du bâtiment durable du Canada, un organisme national sans but lucratif qui, depuis 2002, se consacre à la promotion des bâtiments écologiques et des pratiques d’aménagement des collectivités durables au Canada.

www.cagbc.org

APPROCHE CONCEPTUELLE

Bien entendu, ma vision de l’architecture dicte mon approche conceptuelle. Chaque projet revêt un caractère et un potentiel unique. Mon approche personnalisée cherche à identifier et à extraire ce potentiel en analysant le contexte bâti, le site, l’ensoleillement, les vues, les besoins particuliers de mes clients, en interprétant les diverses réglementations en vigueur et en considérant le budget ainsi que l’échéancier établis.

Cette analyse se traduit par la création de volumes, d’espaces et d’interrelations, ainsi que par le choix de matériaux. Ce processus est également teinté par ma personnalité, mes expériences de vie et mon expérience professionnelle!